Sunshine in Scotland

I have visited Scotland on several occasions since I have been married to a native of said country. Alas sight seeing is usually bottom of the agenda as the sole point of our visits are parental based. Although sadly there is only one parent now, the mother-in-law.

As you can see the weather is and has been beautiful for the whole week. I am sitting out here with a mind to ramble about nothing in particular so here goes. This is the first time in fifteen years (the amount of time I have been married to previously mentioned spouse) I have known this, but the real joy is that back home in Hampshire the weather is quite horrible. I don’t feel bad, in fact I am quite pleased as for once the tables are turned. I know that emitting smug feelings such as these into the universe will at sometime mean payback and as I speak it is starting to cloud over.

Mother as I sometimes call her, (other names are available) is now ninety-years old and for some inexplicable reason likes me. To be honest I am the only son-in-law as my wife’s siblings have no men in their lives. No, they’re not lesbians, although if they were this would be perfectly fine, and they did ‘come out’ some time ago, but in an Elizabeth Bennet way, when ‘coming out’ meant you were eligible for marriage. I much prefer this older definition, which conjures up a sense of young ladies blossoming rather than being locked in some detestable cupboard afraid to tell anyone of their sexuality. Unlike the Bennet sisters no one really wanted them or they didn’t want the ones that did, sad I know but, inexorably true. They are not, ‘the silliest girls in England’ as Mr Bennet commented, or indeed Scotland, if they were I believe it would be an improvement, Mrs Danvers (Rebecca) springs to mind on occasion. I think I won my Elizabeth and so I know how Mr Darcy felt, except for when I pass the mirror, as my wife explained once, ‘you’re no Mr Darcy, Charlieboy.’ I take solace in the theory that Mr Darcy was probably rubbish at Carpentry and is in fact a fictional character. As I mentioned earlier it’s not a good idea to put bad thoughts into the universe, especially smug weather thoughts. I will leave you with proof as they say every picture tells a story.

About charliecountryboy

Carpenter and Carpentry Lecturer. Writer, musician. Curious about life and all those wonderful people in it. Follow on Twitter:- Chas_countryboy Follow on Facebook :-
This entry was posted in Humour, Life, Opinion, people, Vacation. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sunshine in Scotland

  1. granny1947 says:

    Lovely post…good to be back.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lbeth1950 says:

    I enjoyed this. It is a quandary to visit a lovely place and not get to roam, I know Mother counts the seconds when you’re out.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

