Me, the Experts and that Food Thing

It’s funny but when I was a nipper at school they said that potatoes were bad for us and if Walter Raleigh tried to import them today they would be banned. Since then I have been told that salt is bad, but if I don’t eat enough salt I will die. Eggs are baaaad, but on the other hand they are quite good for you, huh? Chocolate is nasty, but there again chocolate does make you happy and so is good for you. Fish and a Chips? Oh my, the scourge of the 70s; if you ate them you would die. Actually they are very good for you, full of carbohydrates and protein. I don’t have the space to list everything that is supposedly bad for you and you wouldn’t thank me.

Sensible people realise that all you need is a balanced diet and that the sensationalists that fill air time and magazine space with all this guff are just that; ‘sensationalists’.

The latest baaaad for you craze is; wait for it…..Tadaa!

Milk.

Sweet jesus what ever next. Yes dear, dear people Vivian Goldschmidt says milk is bad for you. The website is saveourbones.com, if you want a look.

We now have children suffering from rickets because of vitamin deficiencies, but to be fair a lot of that is down to the Sun scarers. They, who in their wisdom told us to keep out of the sun or we will die, gave no thought of how we were going to get our vitamin D.

The truth is a bit of food, drink and sunshine is good for you. Just don’t over do it. Now why couldn’t they just have said that at the beginning. 😉

About charliecountryboy

Carpenter and Carpentry Lecturer. Writer, musician. Curious about life and all those wonderful people in it. Follow on Twitter:- Chas_countryboy Follow on Facebook :-
This entry was posted in Humour, Life, Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Me, the Experts and that Food Thing

  1. Jeni says:

    If we could somehow capture the energy inherent in all the about-facing among nutrition scientists, I would say we could safetly bid adieu to petrochemicals.

    Like

  2. granny1947 says:

    Thank you for popping by.
    I like to live dangerously.
    I eat butter and eggs!!!

    Like

  3. I must run and put a warning on a post-it note, and stick it to the milk bottle in the fridge 😀

    Like

  4. messyme says:

    I don’t worry too much about the food that I eat. I worry a lot more getting into my car and going to and from work. There are more dangers there than I even want to comment about.

    Like

  5. AC Lundin says:

    Haven’t you heard? The peal of the cucumber can give you cancer, so you should peal it before you eat it 😉

    Like

  6. My food pet peeve is how food claims to be healthy when there not. We just got some candy bars in that claim to be “unjunked.” They don’t have artificial sweetners or preservatives. Sorry but it is still a candy bar. Energy bars. I have had people buy the meal replacement bars for a snack and tell me that they are good for them. I wanted to show them how many calories they have. They are intended to replace a MEAL not to replace a snack. Energy drinks. Calories and Caffeine. What a combination? Eat reasonably or in moderation.

    Like

Leave a Reply

