Stupid me and the Nanny State

When I was younger I was obviously a little stupid. Of course I use the word ‘I’ as an euphemism for ‘us’. Why else were all those safeguards put in place. Zebra crossings became commonplace because I could not be trusted to cross a road safely on my own, I required government help.

Then later as I became more stupid I needed traffic lights to help me and a bleeping noise (although I believe the bleeping is for the blind)

I also needed signs, oh yes, lots of signs. Some tell me to mind my head and some tell me to mind the step, because obviously, I neither look up, nor down when I am moving around.

As time moves on I become more and more stupid. Nowadays when I buy a cup of coffee/tea/soup etc there is a little notice that tells me it is hot, because I am totally unaware of how this strange liquid is made.

Now in the year 2012 I have become so stupid that I need verbal commentary on how a lift works. Apparently, according to the calm voice when I press a button the lift, “Doors Open”. When I step inside after a short time the lift “Doors Close”. When I press the down or the up button the lift starts, “Going Up”, or “Going Down”, accordingly. How stupid will I eventually end up. 😉

About charliecountryboy

Carpenter and Carpentry Lecturer. Writer, musician. Curious about life and all those wonderful people in it. Follow on Twitter:- Chas_countryboy Follow on Facebook :- Charlie Robinson
This entry was posted in Freedom, History, Humour, Life, Opinion, Politics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Stupid me and the Nanny State

  1. Carrie says:

    Those warnings exist because plenty of people really are stupid and municipalities/soup makers don’t want to be responsible for someone else’s errant judgment. An acquaintance who is an attorney once represented a rubber raft company that was being sued by an idiot who overinflated a raft and blasted his nuts off. Apparently, the raft company neglected to issue a warning that straddling the raft while naked and inflating the raft beyond the recommended volume was a health risk. The raft company settled to avoid publicity; the overinflater made off like a nutless bandit.

    • Thanks Carrie, that has really made my day, so funny 😉

    • theoctoberseer says:

      Wow! Things like this kind of make my blood boil! How stupid does one have to be? America truly is a great place in many ways I must say. Where I’m from, if this imbecile had tried to sue over this, the underpaid judge would have given him the finger and told him to check himself into the nearest mental facility! How can a grown person NOT know? It’s like the idiot who sued after burning himself with coffee he’d ordered. seriously? *Rant ends here.*

      • Carrie says:

        In fairness, my friend was confident he could win the suit. However, the company didn’t want the publicity that surely would have come with such a sensational case.

  2. Rowan says:

    You should watch Idiocracy if you haven’t seen it already.

  3. Ian Moone says:

    good write, I must be getting less stupid because I let me brain delete out all these useless info 🙂

  4. theoctoberseer says:

    Love this! I too look at the cups of coffee with the little holders and their warnings “Warning! Contents may be extremely hot!”. Why I was previously unaware of this mystery fact! The steam billowing out the cup and the heat radiating from it gave me no such hint. -___-

  5. OyiaBrown says:

    Reblogged this on OyiaBrown and commented:
    PC will be the end of us…..

  6. btg5885 says:

    Newcomer here. Good post. I think it may be the risk managers of the world saying if you don’t warn everyone, then they could sue. It reminds of the end of the Rx commercials where the read the fine print on what a drug could cause so quickly, no one could consciously hear all the cautions – yet they must read them. On the other hand, there is a Forrest Gump in all of us – “stupid is as stupid does,” so saying something is very hot might be needed for some. Thanks for visiting my blog. I will keep peeking in over here some if that is OK.

  7. John says:

    Thanks for stoppin’ by my place. 😉

  8. Md. Alsanda says:

    Thank you for stopping by 🙂

  9. Eileen says:

    When in England, my favorite was a sign in a tiny rural train stop: ” Alight here.” A true land of poets. Enjoyed your post. Thanks for visiting mine.

Leave a Reply

