Is it me? Really, is it?

Bad Teacher

Anyone who read some of my earlier posts will be aware I recently switched jobs from carpenter to carpentry lecturer. There is a difference between teacher and lecturer but I’m not sure what it is. If I had to guess it would be that a teacher has a degree and a lecturer is more like me. A hairy-assed builder who creates little hairy-assed builders. Which would explain why a very irate teacher/lecturer burst into our classroom just before Christmas and told us to keep the noise down.Fair play, it was noisy, but at the same time we didn’t know he was conducting an exam next door.                                                                                   It seems though, that all my colleagues are super sensitive.

“Jeeesuss, that kid Fred put the lock on the door the wrong way around, even though I told him five times!!” I feel like saying so what? I usually laugh which is probably worse. “Charlie, none of these kids are ever going to work on a site they are too dumb, just get them through the course.” Is another piece of advice I receive regularly.

The Students are ComingThese people have been in a college for a while so maybe they forgot that adults make
mistakes too?I think the kids are great, particularly the young ones sent by the school for a morning because they are soooooo bad in school. They seem pretty normal to me. I am told they are not, they are the scourge of the planet. This leads me to ask questions about myself. I obviously identify with the scourge of the planet, oops. Apparently I have to wait ten years and then see if I still have a laid back attitude. I think I recall being told that before, along with the fact that I can’t just do as I want, so far as, to go off travelling or give up my job and become a DJ or move to the other side of the country for no other reason than love.

I have two days left before I have to face the negativity of college life once again. So it’s out with the old trusted saying for another New Year.

“Don’t let the bastards grind you down.”

Have a good one folks ;-)

About charliecountryboy

Follow on Twitter:- Chas_countryboy. Carpenter and Carpentry Lecturer. Volunteer @www.enham.org.uk, writer, musician. Abhorent dislike of social injustice.
This entry was posted in Carpentry, Education, Humour, Life, New Year, Opinion, people and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Is it me? Really, is it?

  1. Charlie, you sound like a great teacher/lecturer. The struggle of teachers is not to pigeonhole young people with expectations: some of the kids will already have developed negative expectations of themselves, and need these to be confounded.
    As you say: we all make mistakes. And we all deserve aspirations.

  2. You sound like a breath of fresh air. Lucky for the kids who get you to teach them. At least they will learn something and also have someone who believes in them which is probably what has been lacking in their lives. This means they might start to feel good about themselves. Good on you. :-)

  3. Mom says:

    My husband is one of those hairy assed contractors :)

  4. Sheila says:

    I laughed out loud. You sound like a great teacher, ignore the stuffed shirts. Quite frankly, I’m sure they should be in colleges anymore.

  5. nah- it’s the other teachers….

  6. We were always told in the air force, “Nil illigitami carborundum” = Don’t let the bastards grind you down.

    AV

  7. Susan Norden says:

    As always, I enjoy reading your writings. They sure make my day!

  8. Good to see you back Charlie!!! No wonder!

  9. Ginger Ray says:

    I have nominated you for the Blog of the Year 2012. Congratulations!! Ginger

    You can see the blog at the link: http://dailylifewithfibromyalgia.com/

Leave a Reply

